Let us start by clarifying that Tiger nuts aren’t actually nuts, nor do they belong to the animal kingdom. Tiger nuts are tubers, like sweet potato, though much smaller in size. They get their name from the stripes on the tubers’ exterior. Tiger nuts have been cultivated by humans for centuries. Also known as chufa nuts and earth almonds, the earliest records of their use dates back to Neolithic Egypt. From there, its cultivation eventually spread to North Africa and the Iberian Peninsula. What’s more, the Spanish have been using it to make horchata (a creamy beverage) since the 18th century.
And now, thanks to its numerous health benefits, tiger nuts have made a comeback, enjoying burgeoning popularity in the market since past few years.
They are completely vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, paleo friendly (they’re even “Certified Paleo”), and, as if that wasn’t enough, they’re even suitable for a raw vegan diet. And finally, they might be the perfect vegan snack.